Cities We Serve
Virginia Sex Offenses
The range of sex offenses in Virginia is wide and the punishments can be severe. Sexual battery is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail. Aggravated sexual battery is punishable by up to 20 years in prison. The most severe crimes are rape, sodomy and incest which can be punished by up to life in prison with many other charges. In addition to the jail time is the stigma of having a sex-related offense and the possibility of having to register as a sex offender.
What happens if I have to register?
The sex offender forces you to provide personal information to police regarding your whereabouts. This information is then available to the public through a registry. This can be embarrassing and a serious hindrance to employment and to one’s personal life. The Virginia Code sets out certain crimes which require registration and crimes which don’t require registration. Often times charges can be resolved by plea deals to charges which will not require registration.
I have been charged with sexual battery. What next?
If you have been charged with a sex offense it is important you contact a lawyer immediately. The police will likely question you in the hopes of getting a confession or other damning information to make their job easier. The less you tell them up front the better chance you have of avoiding a lengthy jail sentence. The attorneys at Naumovski Law are experienced attorneys and can assist you.